ARC-CBBC selected the first researchers for personal membership

The first 39 researchers have been selected for personal membership for the Advanced Research Center Chemical Building Block Consortium (ARC CBBC). Among them, Utrecht University researchers: Alfons van Blaaderen, Pieter Bruijnincx, Marjolein Dijkstra, Frank de Groot, Krijn de Jong, Petra de Jongh and Bert Weckhuysen.
Members are provided exclusive access to the research programs of ARC CBBC that has an overall budget of 110 million euros for the upcoming ten years.
According to the recent report of TNO (Dutch organization for applied scientific research), ARC CBBC belongs to the new generation of strategic public-private collaborations.
In the newsletter Onderzoek Nederland, Bert Weckhuysen, scientific director of ARC CBBC, explains that he wants to create something innovatory with the consortium: “a research center that exceeds the limitation of disciplines unites expertise’s and pushes the boundaries of knowledge, together with companies”.
An independent scientific advisory board made a pre-selection out of 159 requests for CBBC membership. The scientific advisory board exists of outstanding scientists from abroad, but with their expertise within the ARC CBBC.
The executive board of ARC CBBC made the definite selection by looking at scientific excellence of the candidates. But also, taking into account that all scientific disciplines are within reach, as a basis to create strong interdisciplinary research teams.
ARC CBBC will form the research programs furthermore with this first selection of scientists and chemical companies. Weckhuysen: “ultimately, we have chosen three common research themes, which are also important for the three collaborating companies”. The themes will be announced on February 17, 2017, at the first meeting with all selected CBBC scientists.

Read more:

  • The full article in the newsletter Onderzoek Nederland, number 401, January 13, 2017 (Dutch).
  • Information about ARC-CBBC on their website

Source: website ARC-CBBC